New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses – that of the North Island, or Te Te Ika-a-Māui, and the South Island, or Te Waipounamu – and numerous smaller islands.
New Zealand is situated some 1,500 kilometres (900 mi) east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the Pacific island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. New Zealand is long and narrow, over 1,600 kilometres (990 mi) along its north-north-east axis with a maximum width of 400 kilometres (250 mi)

New Zealand is a predominantly urban country, with 72 percent of the population living in 16 main urban areas and 53 percent living in the four largest cities of Auckland, Christchurch, Wellington, and Hamilton. New Zealand cities generally rank highly on international livability measures. For instance, in 2010 Auckland was ranked the world’s 4th most liveable city and Wellington the 12th by the Mercer Quality of Life Survey.

The Māori were the first people to reach New Zealand, followed by the early European settlers. 74.0% of New Zealand residents identified ethnically as European, and 14.9% as Māori. While the residents are officially New Zealanders, the informal “Kiwi” is commonly used both internationally and by locals.

Capital: Wellington

Largest city: Auckland

Dialing code: +64

Population: 4.471 million (2013) World Bank

Currency: New Zealand dollar (NZD)

Time zone: NZST (UTC+12)
Sep to Apr: Summer (DST) NZDT (UTC+13)